Otis Redding – The Dock Of The Bay (1968/2012) 24bit FLAC

Otis Redding - The Dock Of The Bay (1968/2012) 24bit FLAC Download

Otis Redding – The Dock Of The Bay (1968/2012)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit, 192 kHz | Time – 31:33 minutes | 1,21 GB | Genre: R&B

For the First Time – Digitally Released As High Resolution Downloads 192kHz/24bit Classic Soul Titles from the Archives of Atlantic Records and Rhino Records. Otis Redding, an influential icon in soul music, had his life cut tragically short. The Dock of the Bay, one of several posthumous releases, is one of Redding’s most celebrated recordings. The album flourishes with hard pounding and intense soul showcasing Redding’s gritty vocal range. The album listed on Rolling Stone’s 500 “Greatest Albums of All Time” features the smash-hit singles, “I Love You More Than Words Can Say,” “The Glory of Love,” and Redding’s biggest hit “(Sittin’ On) The Dock of the Bay,” which topped the pop and R&B charts. In 1968, the single won Otis Redding two GRAMMY Awards, one for Best Male R&B Vocal Performance and one for Best R&B Song. The album peaked at #4 on Billboard’s Top 200 and #1 on Billboard’s Top R&B albums. Experience one of Rolling Stone’s “100 Greatest Artists of All Time” with startling clarity.It was never supposed to be like this: “(Sittin’ on) The Dock of the Bay” was supposed to mark a beginning of a new phase in Otis Redding’s career, not an ending. Producer/guitarist Steve Cropper had a difficult task to perform in pulling together this album, the first of several posthumous releases issued by Stax/Volt in the wake of Otis Redding’s death. What could have been a cash-in effort or a grim memorial album instead became a vivid, exciting presentation of some key aspects of the talent that was lost when Redding died. Dock of the Bay is, indeed, a mixed bag of singles and B-sides going back to July of 1965, one hit duet with Carla Thomas, and a pair of previously unissued tracks from 1966 and 1967, respectively. There’s little cohesion, stylistic or otherwise, in the songs, especially when the title track is taken into consideration — nothing else here resembles it, for the obvious reason that Redding never had a chance to follow it up. Despite the mix-and-match nature of the album, however, this is an impossible record not to love. Cropper chose his tracks well, selecting some of the strongest and most unusual among the late singer’s orphaned songs: “I Love You More Than Words Can Say” is one of Redding’s most passionate performances; “Let Me Come on Home” presents an ebullient Otis Redding accompanied by some sharp playing; and “Don’t Mess With Cupid” begins with a gorgeous guitar flourish and blooms into an intense, pounding, soaring showcase for singer and band alike. No one could complain about the album then, and it still holds more than four decades later.

01. Otis Redding – [Sittin’ On] The Dock Of The Bay (02:46)
02. Otis Redding – I Love You More Than Words Can Say (02:56)
03. Otis Redding – Let Me Come On Home (02:54)
04. Otis Redding – Open The Door (02:27)
05. Otis Redding – Don’t Mess With Cupid (02:33)
06. Otis Redding – The Glory Of Love (02:59)
07. Otis Redding – I’m Coming Home To See About You (03:04)
08. Otis Redding & Carla Thomas – Tramp (03:00)
09. Otis Redding – The Huckle-Buck (03:04)
10. Otis Redding – Nobody Knows You (When You’re Down And Out) (03:08)
11. Otis Redding – Ole Man Trouble (02:36)



© 2024 hexddl.com - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy